Czech Competition Jury

The jury selects the best Czech or co-production documentary from the previous or current year to receive the Czech Competition Jury Award for Best Film.  

Tor Fosse

Tor Fosse is the festival director of the Norwegian film festival BIFF in Bergen, where he was appointed by the city council in 1999. The first edition took place as part of the European Capitol of Culture 2000. Before that he co-established the Tromsø International Film Festival in the Arctic in 1991 and became the producer and program director there for the first eight years. He was also the manager of import and distribution at the Norwegian association of film societies from 1986 and the first managing director of the distribution company Arthaus from 1992. In 1994 he established his own film distribution company Tour de Force while still working for the Tromsø – and then the Bergen IFF.

Ulyana Toporovskaya

Ulyana Toporovskaya is the director of Qara Film Festival which has taken place both online and in Almaty, Kazakhstan, since 2020. The independent film festival shows creative documentaries from all over the world which bring to light social and human rights issues that are also relevant to Kazakhstan.

Wood LIN

Wood LIN is a filmmaker, film critic, writer, and festival organizer specializing in documentaries. He is the supervisor of research and program division of Taiwan Film & Audiovisual Institute, has served as program director of Taiwan International Documentary Festival (TIDF) since 2013 and now is the program advisor of International Documentary Festival Amsterdam (IDFA).

Jury statement

We are impressed by the diversity and quality of the films in the Czech competition. Although we would like to mention several films, we need to select one that stood out because of the craftsmanship of filmmaking, especially with its stunning visuals, sound design, and the director’s creative approach. 

The director started to make a movie about the multiculturality of the community is affected by the shift of the mining industry. Meeting the several characters, we are introduced to different stories and layers one by one which makes us think what our position in the world is. The direction of her search also turns inwards, revealing personal questions of belonging and home. So, the award for the Best Film in the Czech Competition goes to The Visitors by Veronika Lišková.

Other Juries

International Competition Jury Awards

The jury for the International Competition award two prizes in this category: the International Competition Jury Award for Best Director and the International Competition Jury Award for Best Film.
The jury comprises film experts from both the Czech Republic and abroad. 

Václav Havel Jury

In the Right to Know category, the film that makes an exceptional contribution to the protection of human rights is selected to receive the Václav Havel Jury Award for the Best Film. The jury is composed of prominent human rights defenders and international representatives of the non-governmental sector or institutions.  

Czech Competition Jury

The jury selects the best Czech or co-production documentary from the previous or current year to receive the Czech Competition Jury Award for Best Film.  

One World Interactive Jury

The jury for the One World Interactive category awards the prize to the virtual reality project that has the most substantial social impact. They judge the way modern technology and digital narrative are used to promote awareness of human rights and how they are violated. The jury comprises representatives of non-profit organizations, journalists, and experts in the field of virtual reality. 

Regional Jury

The regional jury comprises two representatives nominated by our regional partners. The nominees are chosen from One World’s fans and supporters in the relevant town. The jury is then supplemented by the holder of the Golden Projectionist title, which is awarded by our platform Promítej i ty!. The winning film will be included in the selection of documentaries included in the Get Your Audience! programme in 2023. 

Student Jury

Each year, we select a group of secondary school students who are actively involved in the One World in Schools programme. During the festival, they select the best film from the One World for Students category. The winning film is announced during the gala closing event and receives the Student Jury Award

Audience Award for the Best Film

Viewers can vote for their favourite documentary. The top-rated film will receive the Audience Award. Voting takes place directly in the cinemas with the use of tablets. You can rate the film by marking one to five stars, where five is the highest rating and one the lowest. 

Abakus Foundation Audience Award for Exceptional Discussion

Audience members select the post-screening discussion that has been the most rewarding for them, and which best supplemented the screened film. The voting takes place next to the cinema auditorium exit with the help of a tablet or QR code.

The award was supported by the Abakus Foundation.